top of page

Packing guide for Winter in Japan

Packing can seem like a daunting task, so I like to provide little guides to help you remember all the necessities and maybe even give you a few NEW ideas for your travel plans.


Backpacking all over Japan for 21-days meant I needed to be organized and practical with my choices. I also had to pack for a variety of temperatures because for half of the time I was in Tokyo where it averaged 30-50*F and the other half of my trip I was snowboarding in Niseko where the weather ranged 15-30*F. Since I was snowboarding I also had to pack all my gear, but still keep it as light as possible.


I am here to give you my best packing advice for a winter adventure in Japan.


January 10 - January 31 I set out to explore the cultural explosion of Japan. On my trip I stayed in AirBnbs in Shanghai (layover) and Tokyo, a ryokan in Nagano, and an apartment in Niseko. A ryokan is a Japanese inn that has kept traditional structure and equipment. So think sliding panel doors, pillows around coffee tables, bath houses, and mats to sleep on. It was everything I dreamt.


Through my unforeseen shortcomings and/or life-saver moments I complied a list of things you will DEFINITELY NEED and some travel tips that will help you plan your Japan adventure.


CARRY-ON

Wandrd day pack filled with everything listed in What to pack in a carry-on for long flights or layovers

Toiletries pouch

Travel-Sized Liquids in Zip-lock baggie

Sunglasses

Exercise band

Pair of sweatpants

Pair of warm socks


CLOTHES

Scarf

Gloves - mittens, tech fingers

Undies

Wool socks

Sports bras

Short sleeve graphic tee

Long sleeve thermals

Sweaters

Dressy top

Turtleneck

Coat

Blue jeans

Black jeans

Long leggings: cotton & athletic

PJ sweats & shorts

Belt

Walking shoes/workout shoes* - There are so many places to explore, so make sure you bring your most comfortable pair.

Boots


TOILETRIES

Chapstick/Aquaphor

Moisturizing eye drops

Face & Body lotion

Sunscreen

Face wash

Deodorant/sample perfume bottles

Makeup

Q-tips

Hairbrush & hairties

Toothbrush/Paste/Floss

Razor/Tweezer


MISC.

Extra vitamin C

Tea

Face towel

Curling iron

Jewelry

Laundry tote (I like reusing Free People tote bags)


SNOW GEAR

Goggles

Beanie

Ear warmer headband

Gloves

Jacket layers (fleece, quilted puffy, windbreaker)

Pants

Boots

Snowboard & bindings

Snowboard bag with wheels

Onesie by Tipsy Elves - Best idea ever because it is so easy to slip on to run out the door. It is also great because snow doesn't creep down your pants.


So that's my packing list for a chilly trip to Japan. Next read about the best places to explore on your trip!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page