top of page

Packing guide for Winter in rural Mongolia

I know this may be a long shot, but I wanted to provide some vital tips for those of you who dare to test your adventuresome limits.


My 2-week nomad-living in rural Mongolia called for packing necessities one may not normally think to pack, so I am giving you my best packing advice for a winter adventure in rural Mongolia.


December 3 - December 16 I set out to explore the expansive and majestic country of Mongolia. On my trip I stayed in a hotel 3x (in between different tours—read about Hunting with Eagles or 5 Things to do in the Gobi Desert), but majority of my time was spent living with local families in Western Mongolia or camping in yurts through the Gobi Desert.


The days were cold, but the nights were colder. Fortunately for me, the week we traveled this country it hit its lowest lows of the season (can you feel the frostbite from the foreshadowing of my sarcasm?) During the day the warmest weather ranged between -13-31*F and the nights about -42*F.


It was a challenge for the Californian to plan for a trip this chilly. However, I like to think of myself as an all-around expert planner (solving problems before they arise), but sometimes you don’t quite know what to expect. The boots I bought said “can handle below -25*F” and now I know I need to advise you to search for boots that can handle much lower.


Through my unforeseen shortcomings and/or life-saver moments (so happy I brought a couple sample perfume tubes) I complied a list of things you will DEFINITELY NEED and some travel tips that will help you plan your Mongolian adventure.


Things you NEED to bring to Mongolia in the winter:


TOILETRIES

Liquids+:

  • Hand Sanitizer

  • Chapstick/Aquaphor

  • Moisturizing Eye Drops

  • Face & Body Lotion - the extreme cold followed by extreme heat to warm you back up really dries your skin out

  • Sunscreen - because even though it is cold out you are still exposed to the sun. I brought my EltaMD tinted sunscreen and used it every day. It was perfect because I felt I was wearing makeup without trying AND BONUS…was protecting my skin!

  • Face Wash

  • Deodorant/Sample Perfume Tubes - you may be wearing same cloths daily, so bring smelly good stuff

  • Conditioner - because hotels do not always stock it, it doubles as shaving cream, and the dry air will make you really miss this stuff

  • *Make sure to pack travel sizes of all the above if you can

Tools:

  • Hairbrush - if you have long hair, remember how knotted it can get with scarves, plan your hairstyles ahead of time. I wore mine in a braid most days—still knotted, but a lot less than the days I did not braid it (also where the conditioner plays a vital role). Maybe also consider bringing detangler or hair oil

  • Toothbrush/Paste/Floss - obviously, but definitely bring the floss even if you are not an avid flosser

  • Razor/Tweezer

  • Nail Clippers/File

  • Hair Ties - you may find more uses than one for these babies

  • Band-Aids & Blister Band-Aids

  • Small Face Towel

Disposables:

  • Q-tips

  • Wipes for Face (sensitive/moisturizing)

  • Wipes for Body & Behind - because you may not have access to a shower…

  • Toilet Paper - because wipes only work so well…and they freeze if you wait to long to use them. Also just for reference 1 roll for 2 people for 4 days. And don’t cheat yourself, get the soft kind

  • Tissues - and I know you might be thinking “TP doubles as a tissue and I am already bringing wipes…” NO! Bring all 3, I promise you will realize the difference when your nose is burning raw


TOOLS

  • Day Pack - something lightweight and easy to access by horseback, make sure to wrap the items inside if they need to be kept somewhat warm or safe (i.e. cameras/batteries)

  • Sunglasses - to help shield your eyes from snow glare that can be painful or even damage your eyes

  • Headlamp - for those lonely walks through the bitter cold yard to the corner hole

  • Portable Charger/Solar Charger - charge it any chance you get because the cold weather will make electronics die faster. Make sure your chargers airport security compliant

  • Wide-Mouth Thermos - doubles as a water bottle, bowl, and will keep your food or drinks the right temp without freezing

  • Multi-Purpose Tool - make sure to pack it in your checked bag

  • Ear Plugs/Noise-Canceling Headphones - you may be sleeping in the same room as multiple people, so these are necessary

  • Sleeping mask - same reason as above, but also great for airplanes and bus rides

  • Laundry Pods - 1 or 2 to hand wash your clothes (undergarments/socks) if you have the chance. Once washed hang your clean clothes on heaters or fancy towel drying racks at hotels

  • Laundry Bag

  • Zip-Lock Baggies


CLOTHING/ACCESSORIES

  • Beanie/Headband - that is actually warm, or bring a couple and layer them. I wore 3 and was still chilly

  • Hat with a Bill/Brim - to shield your face from the bright sun

  • Scarf - warm, wool, and/or something that is versatile and can be used for a headscarf or face mask

  • Face Mask/Full Face Cover - because there is no such thing as being too warm in -30*C weather…

  • Gloves/Mittens - I brought my snowboarding finger gloves, but could not wear them because 1. I did not have the dexterity to use my camera, and 2. My fingers were so spread out that they became colder faster. The locals wear mittens because they keep your fingers closer together to keep them warmer. I ended up wearing my lightweight tech-touch gloves the entire time and curled my fingers in like they were mittens when I was not using my camera. Learn from my mistake and wear tech clothes UNDER a pair of warm mittens.

  • Socks - and don’t skimp on packing them. Warmer the better. I regret only packing 3 pairs for a 3 week trip because they smell…delicious by the end. Maybe opt for ones you do not mind disposing along your trip, which will also lighten your luggage. Also, if your socks are clean enough that is a great place to hide your phone or passport.

  • Snow Boots - that are warmer than -25*. Like I said, I researched far and wide to find the boots I brought because I do not like being cold…AT ALL. Make sure not to skimp out on lightweight boots.

  • Undies - comfortable ones. Bring a variety, but not your favorite. Maybe opt for ones you do not mind disposing along your trip, which will also lighten your luggage.

  • Sports bras - because comfort is all that matters

  • Fur Anything- keeps you the warmest

  • Clean Outfit - you kept safe from dirt (zip-lock sealed) to wear for your last day traveling home because you will want to wear something different or clean after your long trip. Also throw in your favorite treat to yourself to find on your last day to enjoy!

  • Layers - are your friend! Choose the clothes you bring wisely. Everything you pack should have a reason to be worn and should be capable of being worn on or under other clothing. This is not a trip to bring “one cute outfit” on.


Below shows a list of exactly what I brought to wear and I amended it to include what I would bring instead.


Make sure to read the details above and add those items in as well.


IN MY BAG:

  • 1 tank top with built-in sports bra (wore every day because it was great to be able to take layers off if I got hot from the heaters after a chilly day)

  • 1 v-neck cotton t-shirt (perfect lightweight sleep shirt and I did not wear it any other time)

  • 1 thick long-sleeve waffle-shirt thermal

  • 1 lightweight long sleeve shirt

  • 1 set of thermals (long sleeve + leggings (I lived in these. Invest in a good set, mine sucked)

  • 1 pair of thick leggings

  • 1 pair of loose comfy sweats (for after the long days being layered up in leggings)

  • 1 pair of jeans (loose enough to wear leggings under)

  • 1 pair of snow pants (wind and water proof)

  • 1 pair of snow boots (no other shoes were necessary)

  • 1 comfy sweater (rarely worn because it was thick and static-y)

  • 1 fleece zip-up (this was perfect and only $20)

  • 1 quilted jacket

  • 1 outer coat (make sure it is insulated, water/windproof, and long)

  • 8 6 pairs of undies

  • 3 2 sports bras

  • 5 3 pairs of disposable socks

  • 1 face mask/scarf (wish I had a thicker scarf and a warmer mask)

  • 2 headbands

  • 1 beanie (mine was a little thin, not so warm)

  • Mittens + tech-touch gloves snowboarding gloves

  • 1 clean outfit for last day (wish I packed this!)


MISC.

  • Medicine - plan ahead to make sure you have enough for your whole trip

  • Vitamins! - do not assume you will not get sick. PRO-TIP: start taking Vitamin C before you get on your first flight and continue taking it to keep your immunity boosted

  • Oats - because they can easily be made by adding hot water. PRO-TIP: pre mix in your favorite dry ingredients to your oats and bring them everywhere. I like to add lots of cinnamon and a pinch of sea salt.

  • Chocolate Chips - because they work great added to your oats and/or are an easy pick me up

  • Dramamine - this one is for me especially because I get car sick, but it is great to have just in case for airplanes, busses, horseback riding, and especially the non-paved roads of rural Mongolia which are quite bumpy

  • Tums/Lactose Pills - these were a life saver. My American tummy is not use to eating such rich foods like dairy products including horse, goat, and yaks milks or meats like beef, sheep, or horse. Chewing up one of these before a meal help me to enjoy these delicacy without pain or discomfort.

  • Sleeping Pills - always helpful for travel whether it is time change or trying to sleep in difficult to sleep places. Also, like I mentioned, you may be sleeping in the same room as others and might find that having these will be helpful to get a good nights rest.

  • Hot Sauce - because if you like spicy you will be missing this. Mongolian food tends to be less spicy, but extremely flavorful through the natural flowers and herbs the animals graze on. Bring your Siracha key chains on this trip to liven up your plates!

  • Playing cards/games


GIFTS

  • Small Gifts for Families - when staying with the local families or in their guesthouse yurts offering them a gift of appreciation is the least you can do. Teas, cookies, chocolates, any small offering is perfect. I recommend staying away from bringing alcohol/tobacco products.

  • Fruit for Kids - this may sound silly, but fruit is a delicacy in Mongolia because it is difficult to grow in the environment. So instead of bringing the local families more candies and cookies (which they love and enjoy daily) grab fresh fruits from the super markets and they will be overjoyed.


I know this list is long, but it is worth the check-off time.


These are the exact items I brought and/or wish I had when I was on my 20-day trip to Beijing and rural Mongolia in the winter.


Use it as you wish to plan your winter trips to these wonderful places.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page